Directly to

 

Research objectives

Objectives and applied methods

The DFG Emmy-Noether-Group EMMA - Efficient Methods for Mechanical Analysis has the primary objective of significantly reducing the computational ressources (memory demand and CPU time) of simulations dealing with non-linear, dissipative, path-dependent, solid mechanical problems.

In order to achieve the anticipated savings, sophisticated model order reduction techniques are developed. More specifically the mechanical fields are approximated by problem-specific, global ansatz functions. These ansatz functions define a so-called reduced basis (RB). This RB is identified from a computationally intense training phase (offline phase). A snapshot proper orthogonal decomposition (snapshot POD) is applied which extracts a set of orthogonal basis functions minimizing the approximation error. The objectives of modern model order reduction techniques are:

  • reduction of the CPU time
  • reduction of the memory demand
  • decoupling of the required computational ressources with respect to the dimension of the unreduced problem
  • efficient identification of the reduced basis (low dimension and low number of preanalysis simulations)

The first two points represent primary objectives. In order to attain these primary objectives, the two seperately mentioned secondary objectives need to be solved. Additionally, the computational strategy (which preferably stems from physical principles) for the determination of the reduced degrees of freedom has a major influence on the overall numerical cost.

Within the Emmy-Noether-Group EMMA a specific interdisciplinary approach is pursued in order to address the afore-mentioned points. Other than in many general model order reduction techniques usually based on mathematically motivated projection rules, micromechanically supported methods are developed in EMMA. These techniques combine cleverly chosen restrictions regarding the modeling. In particular, it is required that the constitutive equations of the underlying materials derive from potential structures (GSM [Halphen, Nguyen (1975)], SD-CZ [Leuschner et al. 2015]).

Four different main projects define the main research activities of EMMA:

EMMA within the GEPRIS system of the Germand Research Foundation (DFG)

Associated projects

  • pRBMOR for materials with nonlienar cohesive interfaces (DFG FR2702/3)
  •

Directly to

 

Forschungsziele

Ziele und Methoden

Die von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) finanzierte Emmy-Noether-Gruppe EMMA - Effiziente Methoden zur Mechanischen Analyse verfolgt als primäres Forschungsziel die maßgebliche Einsparung von Rechenressourcen (Speicherplatz und Rechenzeit) bei der Simulation nicht-linearer, dissipativer, pfadabhängiger Probleme aus dem Bereich der Festkörpermechanik.

Um die angestrebten Einsparungen zu erreichen werden Modellreduktionsverfahren entwickelt. Konkret werden die mechanischen Felder durch problemspezifische, globale Ansatzfunktionen approximiert. Diese Ansätze definieren eine sogenannte reduzierte Basis (RB). Die RB wird in einer numerisch kostenintensiven Trainingsphase (Offline Phase) bestimmt. Es wird eine snapshot proper orthogonal decomposition (snapshot POD) auf die in der Offline Phase generierten Trainingsdaten angewendet. Diese extrahiert eine Menge orthogonaler Basisfunktionen, die den Approximationsfehler minimieren. Die Ziele moderner Modellreduktionsverfahren sind:

  • Reduktion der Rechenzeit
  • Reduktion des Speicherbedarfs
  • Entkopplung der benötigten Rechenressourcen von der Dimension des unreduzierten Problems
  • effiziente Identifikation der reduzierten Basis

Die beiden erstgenannten Punkte sind Primärziele. Um diese zu erreichen müssen jedoch die beiden separat aufgeführten Sekundärziele gelöst werden. Zusätzlich hat die - vorzugsweise physikalisch motivierte - Berechnungsvorschrift zur Bestimmung der reduzierten Freiheitsgrade einen wesentlichen Einfluss auf die numerischen Kosten.

In der Emmy-Noether-Gruppe EMMA wird ein spezieller interdisziplinärer Ansatz zur Erreichung der genannten Ziele verfolgt. Anders als bei vielen allgemeinen Modellreduktionsverfahren, die häufig auf mathematisch motivierten Projektionsvorschriften beruhen, wird in EMMA an mikromechanisch motivierten Verfahren geforscht. Diese berücksichtigen geschickt gewählte Einschränkungen bezüglich der Modellbildung. Konkret wird vorausgesetzt, dass die Konstitutivgleichungen der zu Grunde liegenden Materialien durch Potentialstrukturen beschrieben werden können (GSM [Halphen, Nguyen (1975)], SD-CZ [Leuschner et al. 2015]).

Die Arbeit von EMMA ist in Form von vier Hauptprojekten gegliedert:

EMMA im GEPRIS-System der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Assoziierte Projekte

  • pRBMOR für Materialien mit nicht-linearen Grenzflächen (DFG FR2702/3)
  •